Sunday 31 July 2016

2016 WMBL Awards and All-Star teams announced

                                                         ( Kody Rock )

What an incredible year it has been for the WMBL. Friday marked the final games of the regular season. Sunday the 2016 WMBL Playoffs will kick off, and it is sure to be an exciting finish. Check below to see the first round matchups and gametimes:

West Division
(1) Okotoks Dawgs Vs. (4) Edmonton Prospects @ Seaman Stadium @ 7:05pm.  
(2) Medicine Hat Mavericks Vs. (3) Lethbridge Bulls @ Athletic Park @ 5:05pm. 

East Division
(1) Swift Current Indians Vs. (4) Weyburn Beavers @ Mitchell Field @ 7:05pm. 
(2) Yorkton Cardinals Vs. (3) Regina Red Sox @ Jubilee Park @ 7:05pm. 

All games are best of 5 series. The first two games will be played at the home park of the higher seed. The next two at the home park of the lower seed, and if necessary the 5th game will be at the home park of the higher seed. Good luck to all of the teams participating in the 2016 WMBL Playoffs starting today!

Below are the 2016 WMBL Award Winners. Awards were voted on by the head coaches of each team in the league. Congratulations to everyone named a 2016 Award Winner!

2016 WMBL Award Winners
Award TeamName
Most Valuable PlayerSwift Current IndiansAlec Humphreys
Rookie of the YearSwift Current IndiansBodie Cooper
Canadian Rookie of the YearLethbridge BullsMike Moffatt
Coach of the YearSwift Current IndiansJoe Carnahan
Top Hitter of the YearEdmonton ProspectsCory Scammell
Top Pitcher of the YearYorkton CardinalsKody Rock
President's Trophy (Best Record)Okotoks Dawgs(33-14, .702)
2016 WMBL All-Stars
1st Team All-StarsTeamName
PitcherYorkton CardinalsKody Rock
PitcherSwift Current IndiansBobby St. Pierre
PitcherOkotoks DawgsCJ Lewington
Relief PitcherOkotoks DawgsAnthony Balderas
Relief PitcherSwift Current IndiansAidan Goodall
Closing PitcherSwift Current IndiansRyan Pope
CatcherSwift Current IndiansBodie Cooper
1st BaseOkotoks DawgsKellen Murruffo
2nd BaseMedicine Hat MavericksNolan Rattai
3rd BaseOkotoks DawgsMichael Gretler
ShortstopSwift Current IndiansAlec Humphreys
OutfieldEdmonton ProspectsCory Scammell
OutfieldSwift Current IndiansLiam Goodall
OutfieldOkotoks DawgsBrendan Rose
Designated HitterMedicine Hat MavericksAlex Alders
UtilitySwift Current IndiansThomas DeBonville
2nd Team All-StarsTeamName
PitcherMedicine Hat MavericksJared Libke
PitcherSwift Current IndiansLuke Wiechec
PitcherEdmonton ProspectsNoah Gapp
Relief PitcherLethbridge BullsMackenzie Major
Relief PitcherOkotoks DawgsTaylor Davis
Closing PitcherRegina Red SoxSam Brunner
CatcherYorkton CardinalsHunter Hisky
1st BaseRegina Red SoxJake Howard
2nd BaseSwift Current IndiansShane Dokey
3rd BaseLethbridge BullsMitch McGeein
ShortstopMedicine Hat MavericksWilliam Salas
OutfieldLethbridge BullsMike Moffatt
OutfieldMedicine Hat MavericksAlex Alders
OutfieldMoose Jaw Miller ExpressCutter McDowell
Designated HitterYorkton CardinalsBilly Clapperton
UtilityBrooks BombersDynas Doud

No comments:

Post a Comment