Tuesday 5 May 2015

Field is set for 2015 RBC Cup in Portage la Prairie


   The race for the 2015 edition of the RBC Cup is now down to just 5 teams, as all the participating teams for the tournament have been determined.

Joining the host Portage Terriers will be the Western Canada Cup champions the Penticton Vees, the 2nd WCC rep the Melfort Mustangs, the Fred Page Cup winners Carleton Place Canadians and the champions of the Dudley Hewitt Cup the NOJHL's Soo Thunderbirds.

The Terriers are nothing like a typical host team, they have earned their way to the big dance as they were the number 1 ranked team in the CJHL's Top 20 Rankings pretty much all season long and were the runners-up in this past weekends Western Canada Cup.

The Penticton Vees are loaded with talent, young talent. Recently turned 17 year old Tyson Jost was named the WCC Top Forward while 19 year old Hunter Miska was named the Western Canada Cup MVP & Top Goalie. The Vees captured the Western Canada Cup Title with a 4-2 win over the Portage Terriers in the championship game. Notable players include Kamsack product Jarod Hilderman.

The SJHL Canalta Cup champion Melfort Mustangs will be making their first appearance in the national tournament since 1996 when they hosted the event and lost in the final to the Vernon Vipers. The Mustangs advanced after beating the WCC host Fort MacMurray Oil Barons 4-2 in the 3 vs. 4 Playoff game on Saturday afternoon. Notable players on roster include former Melville Millionaire goaltender Richard Palmer & Moosomin product Dakota Boutin.

The Carleton Place Canadians will be looking for a little redemption as they return to the National stage for the 2nd straight year. The Canadians had a 3-1 lead late in last years RBC Cup Final but of course the Yorkton Terriers scored 2 goals in 8 seconds to tie things up then Derek Falloon scored for the OT winner to break the Canadians hearts. But they are back and they return a lot of keys players with the likes of Andy Sturtz, Stephen Baylis and goaltender Guillaume Therien all back wearing the Blue & Yellow. They defeated the Dillepe Commandos 3-2 in the Fred Page Cup Final.

And finally the Soo Thunderbirds captured the Dudley Hewitt Cup with a 3-2 victory over the Fort Frances Lakes in the championship final. The Thunderbirds will return the Prairies once again to compete for a National title, as their last appearance was in 2012 when the tournament was held in Humboldt.

Mustangs Schedule:

Sun. May 10th- vs. Penticton Vees (2:00 MB time)
Mon. May 11th- vs. Soo Thunderbirds (7PM MB time)
Wed. May 13th- vs. Carleton Place Canadians (7PM MB time)
Thurs. May 14th- vs. Portage Terriers (7PM MB time)

Portage Schedule

Sat. May 9th- vs. Penticton Vees (2PM MB time)
Sun. May 10th- vs. Carleton Place Canadians (7PM MB time)
Tues. May 12th- vs. Soo Thunderbirds (7PM MB time)
Thurs. May 14th- vs. Melfort Mustangs (7PM MB time)

No comments:

Post a Comment