Wednesday 20 April 2016

Portage Terriers capture 2nd straight MJHL Turnbull Cup Title


(Top left to right: Josh Bykowski and Braden Pettinger.
Bottom left to right: Michael Knaub and Braydon MacDonald)
For the 2nd straight year the Portage Terriers have conquered the Manitoba Junior Hockey League.

The Terriers are now back to back MJHL Turnbull Cup champions after a 5-1 victory over the Steinbach Pistons on Tuesday night to win the Best of 7 championship series, 4 games to 1.

Chase Brakel scored twice for the Terriers while former Swan Valley Stampeder Braydon Macdonald, Brandon Stanley,  and Adam Wowryk added singles.

MJHL goalie of the year Nathan Park was once again solid making 20 saves on 21 shots.

Former Melville Millionaires Josh Bykowski and Michael Knaub, former Swan Valley Stampeder and former Wayway Wolverine Braden Pettinger are all part of the Terriers roster.

The defending RBC cup champs now advance to another Crescent Point Energy Western Canada Cup this time in Estevan, Sask at Affinity Place.

The Terriers will open up the WCC on Sat. April 30th when they take on the champions from the Saskatchewan Junior Hockey League.

No comments:

Post a Comment