Monday 23 March 2015

Mils' season comes to an end with a 4-0 Game 6 loss in Nipawin

After the Melville Millionaires got out to a 2 games to 1 series lead, the Nipawin Hawks rattled off 3 straight victories which included a 4-0 victory over the Mils in Game 6 to win the Best 7 Series 4-2.

The Mils started off the game with some pretty quality chances but they just weren't able to convert and it would be the Hawks drawing first blood at the 7:18 mark of the 1st as Eric Bolden would capitalize on a big rebound from Trevor Martin and hammer home his 1st of the series to make it a 1-0 lead. Chase Thudium would make it a 2-0 lead with 1:22 to go in the first frame as he would take nice back door feed from Carter Coben for his 2nd to give the Hawks a 2 goal lead after 1 period of play.

The Hawks would be the only team to hit the score board as Game 5 OT hero Carter Coben would also convert on a big rebound and slip it by a sprawled out Trevor Martin for a power play goal, his 3rd of the series to make it a big advantage of 3-0 after 40 minutes.

The Mils might have played one of their better periods of the series in 3rd as they would out shoot Nipawin 21-7 but some how couldn't beat Joe O'Brien who had his best game of the series for the Hawks turning aside everything he saw. Kris Spriggs would add an empty netter with 5:23 to go, his team leading 5th goal of the series to put the final nail in the coffin of the Mils and a 4-0 Hawks victory.

19 year old Joe O'Brien stopped all 33 shots he faced for his 1st shutout of the postseason while 18 year old Mils netminder Trevor Martin made 25 saves in the season ending loss for the Mils.

The Hawks will now move on to face their biggest rivals, the Melfort Mustangs in the SJHL Semi-Finals which most likely will start on Friday night in Melfort at the Northern Lights Palace.

---- I would also like to thank the Melville Millionaires organization from top to bottom for having me once again involved in the 2014/15 season and I know it might've ended sooner than most like, but congrats on a great season.

Also Congrats to the 7 20 year olds who had their Jr. Careers come to an end and best of luck to them going forward. Those players were:

#5 Adam Koopman

#6 Matt Carr

#7 Jeff Hubic

#15 Allen Kilback

#20 Landon Farrell

#22 Lane Harbor

#23 Reed Murray

Final Post Game of 14/15 with Mils HC/GM Jamie Fiesel. He chats about the season that was, and a little comment about each graduating 20 year old.

No comments:

Post a Comment