Monday 1 May 2023

Steinbach Pistons capture 2023 MJHL Turnbull Cup title

The Steinbach Pistons are your 2023 MJHL Turnbull Cup Champions.

The Pistons which included former Yorkton Terrier Parker Jasper claimed their third championship on home ice Saturday night, with a 3-0 victory over the Virden Oil Capitals, at the T.G. Smith Centre, to win the best-of-seven series in five games.

Steinbach captain, Dawson Milliken opened the scoring on a powerplay midway through the first, while Ty Paisley added another with the man advantage, with seven minutes to go in the opening frame.

Kirk Mullen iced the game with an empty-netter in the third.

Dominik Wasik stopped all 24 Virden shots, earning the shutout in the title-clincher.

Milliken, the Pistons' captain, was named the MJHL's playoff most valuable player.

The Pistons with the win book their ticket to the 2023 Centennial Cup, which begins later this month in Portage La Prairie.

No comments:

Post a Comment