Thursday 17 March 2016

Stamps drop 2nd straight OT decision to Steinbach as 2015/16 season comes to an end

For the 2nd straight night, the MJHL Quarter-Final between Swan Valley & Steinbach went into extra time and for the 2nd straight time the Pistons were victorious as they beat the Stampeders 3-2 to sweep the Best of 7 series

The Stampeders unlike the previous 3 games were able to get the first goal as on the power play it would Michael Fortin re-directing home his 2nd of the playoffs by Roman Bengert to make it an early 1-0 lead. It would stay like that until the 18:10 point of the opening period as Cody Ellingson would capitalize on a Piston turnover and go fore-hand, back-end past Bengert for his 1st of playoffs to give the home team a 2-0 lead after 1 period. Shots after 20 minutes were 11-10 Stampeders.

The Pistons came out a firing in the 2nd period as they would completely dominate the Stampeders but they would only muster up 1 goal as Hayden Goderis would capitalize on a big rebound from Zach deGraves for his 1st of the series to make it a 2-1 Stamps lead. The Pistons sent a lot of rubber at the Stamps goaltender in the middle frame out shooting Swan 24-3 in the 2nd and 34-14 overall after 40 minutes.

The Stamps will continue to lead until the 13:24 mark of the 3rd when Goderis would snipe home his 2nd of the night to make it 2-2 game headed for the 2nd straight night to the extra time.

For the 2nd straight night it would be the Pistons' getting the game winner as Cole Smith would sneak through a hip check and then slide it just past deGraves for his 3rd of the postseason to help Pistons to the 3-2 win, and the 4 game sweep over the Stamps.

Roman Bengert once again wasn't the busier of the goalies but did enough to get his 4th straight win making 22 saves in the Pistons net while Zach deGraves finished off his final game of his Jr. career with another fantastic performance to keep his team in it stopping 50 of 53 shots in the Swan goal.

The Stamps season comes to an end while the Pistons become the first team to book their ticket into the MJHL's Final Four.

The Jr. careers of 5 Stampeder 20 year old's also came to an end. Congratulations and best of luck in the future to:

#2 Gavin Froese

#21 Evan Last

#24 Colton Brausen

#25 Daylan Creasy

#29 Zach deGraves.

Stamps Head Coach/GM Erik Petersen last post game of the season

No comments:

Post a Comment