Monday 16 May 2016

Wheat Kings capture 2016 WHL Title on Friday after 5 game series victory over Seattle

                                                 Jayce Hawyluk            Linden McCorrister

The Brandon Wheat Kings won their first Western Hockey League title in more than 2 decades on Friday nigh after a 8-4 win over the Seattle Thunderbirds to win the Best of 7 championship series, 4 games to 1.

Roblin's Jayce Hawryluk had 2 goals and 1 assists in the series clincher on Friday.

Along with Hawryluk, the Wheat Kings also includes former Swan Valley Stampeder Linden McCorrister.

The Wheat Kings will open up their 2016 Memorial Cup in Red Deer on Saturday night at 4PM SK time when they battle the QMJHL champion, Rouyn Noranda Huskies.

Hawryluk talks about the WHL Title and previews the Memorial Cup below:

No comments:

Post a Comment