Wednesday 15 April 2020

Local products named to 2020 SaskFirst Female Camp Rosters

The Saskatchewan Hockey Association and SaskFirst High-Performance program has announced the Top 29 players in the Female Under-18 program along with the Top 34 players in Female Under-16 program. 

With the cancellation of the SaskFirst Female Tournament which was set to take place April 10-12, the selections for both programs were completed using player evaluations conducted at the identification camps back in February.

 “Despite the cancellation of the SaskFirst Female Tournament, we are fortunate to have player evaluations from our I.D Camps that allowed us to make these selections. We are confident with the players selected and look forward to meeting up this summer.” 
      - Joel Houseman, Program Director – SaskFirst High-Performance.

The Female Under-18 program is coming off a Silver Medal performance at the 2019 National Women’s Under-18 Championships and looks to stay on the podium in 2020. As the current restrictions on social gatherings remain, the Top 29 players will take part in a virtual workout and team builder in June. From there, an orientation camp has been scheduled for August 8-9 in Regina. The final camp for these prospective Team Saskatchewan players will be in Saskatoon on September 17-20 for a series of exhibition games. Following the Saskatoon weekend, the final roster will be selected to attend Nationals in Dawson Creek, British Columbia in early November.

The Female Under-16 program has expanded its player opportunities this season and will be sending two teams to the Swift Current Wildcats Preseason Showcase scheduled for September 10-13. The Top 34 players include 17 players from the north region and 17 players from the south region of the province. This format allows for more players to progress in the provincial program and develop their skill in a provincial setting.

 Ahead of the tournament, the Under-16 program will conduct their Summer camp this August alongside the Under-18 program.

(Sask Hockey Release) 


U16 Top 17 South

Ellie Rawlick (Yorkton) 

Alyssa Rasmuson (Moosomin) 

Emma Silvernagle (Stockholm) 

U18 Top 29 

Jordyn Bear (Ochapowace)

Kyla Bear (Ochapowace)

Ava Metzger (Moosomin) 

Megan Hayhurst (Wapella) 

No comments:

Post a Comment