Monday 18 February 2019

MJHL announces nominees for 2018/19 Yearly Awards

The Manitoba Junior Hockey League announced their nominees for their major awards for the 2018/19 season and among the selections are 3 members of the Swan Valley Stampeders. 

F Josh Tripp (pictured above top right) is up for Most Valuable Player, D Quintin Sudom (pictured above top left) is a nominee for the league's Top Defenceman and Head Coach/GM Barry Wolff is up for MJHL Coach of the Year. 

Tripp, a Swan River product is currently the MJHL's Top Scorer compiling thus far 32 goals, 44 assists for 76 points in 51 games. He also leads the league in Assists and is tied for lead in goals (32) with linemate Brad Goethals. 

Meanwhile for Sudom (Fort McMurray, AB), he leads the league in scoring among defenceman with 55 points in 50 games this year 

For Wolff, in his 1st year with the Stampeders he has guided the Stamps to one of their most successful season's in franchise history, they currently sit in 2nd place in the MJHL standings with a record of 37-10-3-2, for 79 points, just 4 points back of Portage for top spot.

Waywayseecappo Wolverines goaltender Isaac Labelle was announced as a nominee for two of the major awards. 

The 20 year old Saskatoon product was announced as one of the finalists for the MJHL's Top Goaltender and Most Valuable Player awards. 

Labelle in 45 games this season has a record of 21-20-0 with a 2.53 GAA and a 0.918 SV%.
He also has recorded 3 shutouts. 

Full list of the MJHL Award nominees below: 

MVP Award – Steve “Boomer” Hawrysh Memorial Trophy
Jeremy Link                    Winnipeg Blues
Josh Tripp                        Swan Valley Stampeders
Isaac Labelle                    Waywayseecappo Wolverines
Rookie of the Year Award – Vince Leah Trophy
Owen Murray                  Portage Terriers
Colby Jaquet                    Selkirk Steelers
Drake Burgin                   Winkler Flyers
 Hockey Ability and Sportsmanship Award – Frank McKinnon Memorial Trophy
Tony Apetagon                Winnipeg Blues
Ben Dalke                        Virden Oil Capitals
Ty Barnstable                  Portage Terriers
Top Goaltender Award
Isaac LaBelle                   Waywayseecappo Wolverines
Jeremy Link                    Winnipeg Blues
Matthew Radomsky         Steinbach Pistons
Top Defenceman Award – Brian Kozak Memorial Trophy
Quintin Sudom                Swan Valley Stampeders
Troy Williams                  Steinbach Pistons
Riley Shamray                 Dauphin Kings
 Top Scorer Award – Mike Ridley Trophy
TBA at season’s end
Coach of the Year Award – Portage Terriers “Muzz McPherson” Award
Paul Dyck                        Steinbach Pistons
Blake Spiller                    Portage Terriers
Barry Wolff                     Swan Valley Stampeders 

No comments:

Post a Comment