Tuesday 21 February 2017

2016/17 SJHL & MJHL Award Nominees


Sherwood - Tyler Heidt, Melfort
Finning - Adam Dawe, Notre Dame
Viterra - Michael McChesey, Estevan

Sherwood - Greyson Reitmeier, Flin Flon
Finning - Ben Duperreault, Notre Dame
Viterra - Josh Rieger, Estevan

Sherwood - Kristian Stead, Nipawin
Finning - Ben Duperreault, Notre Dame
Viterra - Josh Rieger, Estevan

Sherwood - Kristian Stead, Nipawin
Finning - Taryn Kotchorek, Battlefords
Viterra - Colby Entz- Melville

Sherwood - Eric Sinclair, Flin Flon
Finning - Kendall Fransoo, Battlefords
Viterra - Josh Rieger, Estevan / Mike Eskra, Weyburn


MJHL announces award nominees

WINNIPEG – Nominees for the MJHL’s six major awards have been finalized, Commissioner Kim Davis announced today.

“Each team submitted a nominee for the awards and the league’s 11 coaches subsequently conducted a vote,” explained Davis. “Each of the nominees should be very proud of their accomplishment.”

The respective winners will be announced later this week. The Mike Ridley Award, given to league’s top point producer, will be known when the regular season comes to an end.

The award finalists are:

MVP Award – Steve “Boomer” Hawrysh Memorial Trophy

·         Mackenzie Graham - Steinbach Pistons
·         Chase Brakel - Portage Terriers
·         Brady Keeper - OCN Blizzard

Rookie of the Year Award – Vince Leah Trophy

·         Riese Gaber - Dauphin Kings
·         Will Koop - Steinbach Pistons
·         Cole Weaver - Winkler Flyers

Hockey Ability and Sportsmanship Award – Lorne “Windy” Lyndon Memorial Trophy

·         Jeremey Leipsic - Portage Terriers
·         Scott Gall - Winkler Flyers
·         Justin Metcalf - Neepawa Natives

Top Goaltender Award

·         Hayden Dola - Selkirk Steelers
·         Cole Weaver - Winkler Flyers
·         Roman Bengert - Steinbach Pistons

Top Defenseman Award – Brian Kozak Memorial Trophy

·         Brady Keeper -  OCN Blizzard
·         Tyler Anderson - Steinbach Pistons
·         Lawson McDonald - Winkler Flyers

Top Scorer Award – Mike Ridley Trophy

·         TBA at a later date

Coach of the Year Award – Portage Terriers “Muzz McPherson” Award

·         Paul Dyck - Steinbach Pistons
·         Ken Pearson - Winkler Flyers
·         Doug Hedley - OCN Blizzard

No comments:

Post a Comment