Tuesday 10 March 2020

Terriers' grab series lead after wild Game 3 win over La Ronge

The Yorkton Hyundai Terriers now have a 2-1 series lead in their SJHL Quarter-Final after a 6-5 win over the La Ronge Ice Wolves in Game 3. 

The Ice Wolves for the 3rd straight game would strike first as Chad McIwain shot hit a couple of skates on its way through and beat Terrier net minder Matthew Pesenti for his 2nd of the playoffs to make it 1-0 just 6:21 into the 1st. 

The Terriers responded late as Captain Chantz Petruic walked over the blue-line and his snapshot beat Xavier Cannon over the right pad of his 4th of the series evening it up at 1-1 with 3:05 left in the first frame. 

But the Ice Wolves on a late PP with 39 seconds to go, Spencer Kennedy regained his team the lead as his wrist-shot went over the left shoulder of Pesenti and into the back of the net to give the home-side a 2-1 advantage after 1 period. 

Grant Longtin regained the Wolves their one goal lead with a PP goal early in the 2nd to make it 2-1. 

The Terriers would come back though with two goal to tie it up as Keenan Taphorn and Petruic with his 2nd of the night made it 3-3 through 40 minutes. 

In the 3rd, Yorkton grabbed their first lead just 3:30 in as Kaeden Taphorn scored to make it 4-3 before brother Keenan added his second of the evening to give the road team a 5-3 lead. 

But La Ronge cut their deficit in half as Spencer Kennedy got his 2nd straight PP goal going top-shelf before Kaeden Taphorn added his 2nd of the period to once again put Yorkton ahead by two. 

Booker Chacalias added one late for La Ronge with 2:57 to go but that's as close as they would get. 

Matthew Pesenti earned his 2nd straight win making 41 saves for the Terriers while Ice Wolves tender Xavier Cannon stopped 28 shots in the loss. 

Game 4 of the Best of 7 series goes on Wednesday once again in La Ronge. Our pregame show begins at 7:20 with the play by play kicking off at 7:30 on GX94. 

Other Tuesday SJHL Results: 

Melfort 2 Estevan (OT) 
**Melfort leads series, 2-1

Flin Flon 6 Humboldt 1 
**Flin Flon leads series, 3-0 

Battlefords 4 Nipawin 2 
**Battlefords lead series, 3-0

No comments:

Post a Comment