Friday, 13 February 2015

Wolverines' Zimmer; Stampeders' Hunt up for MJHL League Awards

Nominees for the MJHL’s six major awards were announced today. Not surprisingly, four members of the Portage Terriers ─ No. 1 ranked team in the CJHL ─ have been nominated for awards.

“Each nominee should be extremely proud of their accomplishment and their excellence on the ice,” MJHL Commissioner Kim Davis said today. “The MJHL member clubs nominated players in each of the award categories. The voting for each award was done entirely by the head coaches.”

Winners will be announced next week, with the players being honoured at a home game later this month.

MVP Award – Steve “Boomer” Hawrysh Memorial Trophy
Tristan Keck      Winkler Flyers
Tanner Jago      Portage Terriers
Graham Hunt     Swan Valley Stampeders

Rookie of the Year Award – Vince Leah Trophy
Dylan Thiessen            Virden Oil Capitals
James Shearer             Steinbach Pistons
Rylee Zimmer             Waywayseecappo Wolverines

Hockey Ability and Sportsmanship Award – Lorne “Windy” Lyndon Memorial Trophy
Soren Frederiksen       Virden Oil Capitals
Brad Bowles               Portage Terriers
Jackson Keane           Winnipeg Blues

Top Goaltender Award
Graham Hunt     Swan Valley Stampeders
Dasan Sydora     Winkler Flyers
Nick Deery        Steinbach Pistons

Top Defenseman Award – Brian Kozak Memorial Trophy
Tanner Jago     Portage Terriers
Ryan Bittner     Winnipeg Blues
Jordan Greig     Virden Oil Capitals

Coach of the Year Award – Portage Terriers “Muzz McPherson” Award
Paul Dyck                   Steinbach Pistons
Don MacGillivray          Winnipeg Blues
Blake Spiller                Portage Terriers

The MJHL’s other major award, Top Scorer  – Mike Ridley Trophy ─ will be announced upon the end of the regular season.


No comments:

Post a Comment