Sunday 29 January 2017

Moose Jaw's Barker wins 2017 Viterra Scotties Tournament of Hearts in Melville

(Courtesy of Curl Sask)

For the first time since 1999 the Saskatchewan Women's Curling champion comes from Moose Jaw.

Penny Barker found herself out to an early 5-2 lead after 5 ends after steals in the first three ends but then after a giving up 3 in the 9th trailed 7-6 but her hit for 4 in the 10th helped her beat North Battleford's Robyn Silvernagle 10-7 to win the 2017 Viterra Scotties Tournament of Hearts in Melville.

"It's definitely a dream come true, you always pictured that shot you have to win a provincial ladies title, and this year it was my chance and I'm glad I was able to make it",  the 31 year old Barker said after the big win.

For Silvernagle and her rink of Dayna Demers, Cristina Goertzen,  Kara Thevenot and coach Gerald Shymko, it was a disappointing end to what was great week after clinching 1st with a 7-1 record, they then went on to beat former champion Stephanie Lawton in the 1 vs. 2 Page Playoff game.

"Ya it's definitely disappointing for the girls they had a great week, we weren't able to get off to a good start and with a one game showdown those things happen and the Barker team made a lot of great shots",  Calder product and Silvernagle Coach Gerald Shymko said after the loss.

Barker and her rink of Deanna Doig, Lorraine Schneider, Danielle Sicinski and Coach Merv Fonger will now wear the green and white & represent Saskatchewan at the 2017 Scotties Tournament of Hearts taking place February 16th-26th in St. Catharines, Ontario.

Penny Barker spoke with the media after the big win

Viterra Scotties Chairperson Larry Petersen recaps the event


In Manitoba,

After winning 6 provincial titles in Saskatchewan, Michelle Englot has her first one in Manitoba.

Englot and her foursome scored 2 in the 10th to defeat Pembina's Darcy Robertson 8-6 in the Manitoba Scotties at the Eric Coy Arena in Winnipeg

Other Provincial winners:

BC- Marla Mallet
Alberta- Shannon Kleibrink
Saskatchewan- Penny Barker
Manitoba- Michelle Englot
Northern Ontario- Krista McCarville
Quebec- Eve Belisle
New Brunswick- Melissa Adams
PEI- Robyn McPhee
Newfoundland/Labrador- Stacie Curtis
Yukon- Sarah Koltun
Northwest Territories- Kerry Galusha
Nunavut- Geneva Chislett
Nova Scotia- Mary Mattatall

Ontario- (Still to be determined)

No comments:

Post a Comment