Thursday 27 February 2020

Terriers' Petruic; Mils' Berkeliev capture 2019/20 SJHL Yearly Awards

The Saskatchewan Junior Hockey League has announced their yearly award winners from the 2019/20 regular season.

Yorkton Terriers' captain Chantz Petruic (pictured above left) captured both the SJHL Player of the Year and Most Valuable Player awards.

Petruic, a Moose Jaw SK product is having an incredible season leading the SJHL with 55 goals, 51 assists for 106 points in 50 games.

Petruic told 

"“In the summer I knew I’d have to work hard and take care of my body. I set goals before the season. I knew I could dominate and I really put a lot of pressure on myself to do that. It felt pretty amazing to get it done.”

Meanwhile Melville Millionaires' G Berk Berkeliev (pictured above right)  was named the league's Top Goaltender.

Despite the disappointing season for the Moneymen, the 19 year old Calgary, AB product has a 11-17-0-3 record with the 6th best goals against average at 2.78 and the best save percentage at 0.929.

Berkeliev told

" This isn’t an easy league to play in, and there is a lot of really talented players and goalies, so winning this award is really exciting and a huge honour"

Churchbridge product and La Ronge Ice Wolves Head Coach Kevin Kaminski was named co-winner of SJHL Coach of the Year with Battlefords' bench boss Brayden Klimosko.

Kaminski led the resurgence of the Ice Wolves in 2019/20 leading them to a 31-19-3-3 record for 68 points which is an improvement to date of 19 victories from a season ago.

Other SJHL award winners include Battlefords North Stars' Matthew Fletcher (Defenceman of the Year) and Tristin Lemyre of the Flin Flon Bombers (Rookie of the Year)

For more Click HERE 

No comments:

Post a Comment