Wednesday 6 March 2019

Mils' SJHL season comes to an end after tight loss in Nipawin on Tuesday

The Melville Millionaires' had their 2018/19 SJHL season come to an end on Tuesday night after a 2-1 road loss to the Nipawin Hawks.

The Hawks would get the lone goal of the 1st period as Brodie Girod snuck behind the Mils defence and slipped it five-hole on Colby Entz for his 14th of the season to give the home team a 1-0 lead after 20 minutes. Shot after 1 were 20-7 Hawks.

The score would stay like that until the 15:05 mark of the 3rd when Michael Makaraenko would finish off a nice individual effort and slide in his 8th of the season to make it 2-0. The Mils would make things interesting though as Aidan Steinke would cut their deficit in half, banging in his 11th with 66 seconds left but that's as close as they would get on this night.

Declan Hobbs turned aside 25 of 26 shots to earn the victory in the Hawks net while Colby Entz, in his final Junior game was outstanding making 33 saves in the Mils' cage.

I would congratulate the graduating players on the Millionaires in Colby Entz, Damian Bentz, Cory Schillo, Josh Borynec and Sam De Melo who had their Jr. careers came to an end and wish them the best of luck going forward.

Post Game with Mils Head Coach/GM Kyle Adams

Elsewhere in the SJHL,

With the Mils loss, the Weyburn Red Wings clinched the final playoff spot despite falling 4-1 to the Yorkton Terriers.

Mason Mullaney scored his 12th and 13th of the season for the Terriers while Casey McDonald notched home his 1st SJHL goal and added an assist.

Cody Bruchkowski also scored while Andrew Henderson made 38 saves for the Terriers to notch the victory.

The Terriers will now prepare for their Best of 3 SJHL Survivor Series that'll begin on Friday night in Yorkton for Game 1 against the Notre Dame Hounds.

Other Tuesday games:

Kindersley 3 Battlefords 4 (OT)

Melfort 1 Flin Flon 3 

SJHL Playoff Picture looks like:

WILD CARD (Best of Three)

7) Flin Flon vs 10) Weyburn

8) Yorkton vs 9) Notre Dame

QUARTER-FINALS (Best of Seven)

1) Nipawin vs #2 Wild Card

2) Battlefords vs #1 Wild Card

3) Estevan vs 6) Humboldt

4) Melfort vs 5) Kindersley


No comments:

Post a Comment